Another Scar to Fulfill My Destiny

I have scars on my hands.

Scars which the world may deem ugly.

 

But to me they mean power.

They define me.

 

“How did you gain these scars?” you ask.

“It’s a long story for a very long day.

Not one for today.” I reply.

His curiosity doesn’t seem to be satisfied.

So, I add, “These scars mean only positive things for me.”

 

He seems to have accepted my response.

At least, he shows that he has.

Except his eyes speak a different language.

Is it curiosity I see in them? Or is it anxiety?

 

However, we are here,

At this ridiculous coffee shop for an interview.

Honestly, it’s all a business to me.

I reassure him, “my rough hands mean only good things.

Things you wouldn’t have never explored before.

Territories that have been unchartered till date.”

 

He says nothing; only looks.

Curiously, anxiously, nervously, eagerly.

I can’t make out.

 

I need to work on reading him better.

That’s going to be a necessity

If I work for him.

 

He has a basic list of questions.

The usual.

However, his eyes seem hungry for more.

More detailed information.

 

I tell them, ‘Not so soon, there’s still time for all that’.

Once our contract is signed,

Hunger will be thoroughly forgotten.

I beam with pride as I think that.

 

He does his part swiftly.

Signs the contract and pays the bill for our coffee.

He don’t seem very happy

Besides I don’t care for his happiness.

 

I am finally living my dream.

I have fulfilled my lifelong passion today.

A passion that has given me another new scar today.

A scar that will let me live out my destiny.

Leave a Reply

