What colour is the sky?

When I was child, learning about colours, shapes and whatnot, I remember being taught that the sky is blue.

By the time I started colouring and using crayons, it became white and light blue during the day. And if it was night, the only shade allowed was deep, dark blue.

After 25 odd years, I became a teacher myself. And as my teachers had taught me, I taught my students- The sky is blue.

But children these days ask. They’re curious and have questions. They want to know the ‘why’ behind it all.

One such student of mine, came to me with innocent eyes to ask. “Ma’am you say the sky is only blue and white.

But when it rains, it’s dark or light gray. At sunrise or sunset it’s all yellow, orange and red. And yesterday it was all magical.”

“ How so my child?” My curiosity at its peak, marvelling at the child’s observation qualities.

“Yesterday ma’am, the sky was in shades of purples and pink. It wasn’t the northern lights. It was just so many shades unlike what you taught us. I realised, I must teach this to you ma’am. The sky is whatever colour it wants to be. We need to stop making it white and blue. We should accept it for its diversity “,

All I managed to do was to stare dumbfounded as a lesson in – “let children be children”- was taught to me.

One thought on “What colour is the sky?

Leave a comment